November 12, 2015

Scholars’ Friendship Day

by Colemn Labrador and Abigail Napenas

   Last November 6, 2015, Ateneo Gabay hosted the annual Scholars’ Friendship Day, a day meant to celebrate our scholars and offer bonding opportunities for them to exchange experiences and make new acquaintances. The whole day program had two events, namely Scholars’ Lounge and the Scholars’ Friendship Night.

12219459_855896861174801_5391570896858474633_nDuring the day, the scholars of Ateneo gathered together at Colayco Pavilion at the Scholar’s Lounge. From 9:00 in the morning until 3:30 in the afternoon, the lounge was an opportunity to take a break from the stress of college with the opportunity to play boardgames, watch movies and eat light snacks.

The day escalated to the evening event, the Scholars’ Friendship Night. Held at the MVP Roofdeck, it was a  costume party that was attended by around 200 scholars. The event was hosted by VJ Serag and Lyka Aguilar and started off with the event’s guest speaker Mrs. Remy Ricafort Miradora, an Ateneo Gabay alumni (who was the Externals Vice President during her fourth year). Mrs. Remy talked about the value of the Ateneo scholarship and told the audience to work hard but also find time to enjoy. Performers from Musikero and GaBand serenaded the crowd during dinnertime. An unexpected blackout took the crowd by surprise, but performer Rocky Deleste from Musikero continued playing a song, which enlivened the crowd and brought about cheers.

The highlight of the event was Trick or Treat: Talent Competition. Seven scholars competed by showing off their talent, ranging from dancing, singing and magic shows. The winners were announced in the dark as everyone huddled around the stage. Winning the competition was Vhon Seviola with guitarist Yoj Gaviola, while 2nd and 3rd place went to Carlo Elopre and to a singing group named JABECKS respectively. Attendees who impressed the crowd the most with their costumes were also rewarded.

Scholars’ Friendship Day is a prelude to an even bigger event next semester, Scholars’ Week.

Project Heads: Veronica Baguio & Angelie Maglasang

Core Team: Carla Buenaobra, Kelvin Cabildo, Mhaey Contienda, Dani Carreon, Alexis Andaya, Paul John Palomares, Colemn Labrador, Ameera Tungupon & Gian Galang

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.