December 16, 2014

Ateneo takes part in 3rd PH Scholars’ Summit

Last December 13 and 14, four Ateneo scholars participated in the 3rd Philippine Scholar’s Summit held at the Civil Law Auditorium, University of Santo Thomas. Four scholars, namely Louie Lava, Gabrielle Gabaton, Mellyza Senica, and Veronica Baguio were delegates from the Ateneo to the national summit. Ateneo Gabay, Becarios de Santo Tomas, FEU IT Honor Students’ Society and the Bedan Scholars Guild organized the event.

The 3rd Philippine Scholar’s Summit was a two-day summit aiming to inspire a congregation of scholars to take action and contribute to the Philippines as it realigns itself with the ASEAN Integration. Organized by the four scholar organizations, it aimed to facilitate the creation of a mother organization of all the scholars in the Philippines. With the theme of “Filipino Scholars’ Role and Contribution to the coming of ASEAN Integration”, PSS3 had delegates from 22 schools and 114 scholars from all over the country.

Mr. Medardo C. Abad, the Chairman of the Board of Directors of the Institute for Strategic and Development Studies delivered the keynote address. “Your most important contribution would be to know more about each other [ASEAN countries],” said Mr. Abad as he enlightened delegates on the implications of the ASEAN Integration.

The summit was also graced by esteemed speakers Dr. Anne Candelaria, an Assistant Professor in the Ateneo de Manila University who talked about the Filipino Scholars’ Role and Contribution to ASEAN Integration, and Dr. Isagani Cruz, the president of the Manila Times College who focused on Education and Global Competitiveness.

The scholar delegates actively participated in team building activities facilitated by Sir Kabaitan Bautista. There was also essay writing contest on the theme, and the three top essays were presented during the summit. The essay of Atenean delegate Veronica Baguio was awarded as one to the top three; she presented her essay entitled “Passion, Purpose and the Philippines.” The delegates to the summit also discussed about the Philippine Scholars’ Alliance (PSA), an envisioned mother organization for all school organizations for scholars.

The summit culminated with a scholars’ gathering where delegates were treated to presentations from Ateneo Entablado and the Season 3 and 2 Thomasian Idol winners, John Saga and Julia Mella. The Ateneo Entablado presented an excerpt of their play Juan Tamban by Malou Jacobo and their performance received a standing ovation from the audience. The performers from ENTA were VJ Serag, Jesha Gregorio, Jerome Ignacio, Karlo Erfe, Rio Evangelist, and Arsenio Armas.

The project head Ms. Hazel Reyes, from Becarios de Santo Tomas, delivered her closing remarks to cap off this year’s Philippine Scholar’s Summit.

Article written by Veronica Mae Baguio, 2 AB PSY

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.